Pages Menu
Categories Menu

The Islands

Here is a quick summary of what each of the 10 islands is known for (click on each island on the drop-down menu above or the links below for photo slideshows and general information for each island):

Santiago – “The big island”; “The most African island”

São Vicente – “The island of culture and nightlife”

Santo Antão –  “The island of green mountains”

Fogo – “The volcanic island”

Sal – “The island of fun in the sun”

Boa Vista – “The island of beaches and sand dunes”

Maio – “The island of tranquility”

São Nicolau – “The island of sodade

Brava – “The misty island of flowers”

Santa Luzia – “The uninhabited island”